Gallery

Winter Solstice Walk

I walked to the store this afternoon and noticed several interesting things along the way. There was this warning on Saltzman Trail:

IMG_1271

I could see no tree falling over, so I continued along Saltzman Trail, the path I wrote about a couple summers ago. When I arrived at Freddy’s I met a lovely gentleman who drives a TriMet LIFT bus and plays Santa on the side – for no charge:

IMG_1288

I finished my shopping and headed home along Saltzman trail. But this time I saw the danger I had been warned about – a willow tree leaning dangerously over the path:

IMG_1285

I suppose the wind storm we had a few days ago blew the tree into the fence, damaging it:

IMG_1296IMG_1299

I passed through the danger zone safely, and then saw the earth in my neighbor’s garden:

IMG_1303

Another neighbor was celebrating the miracles of Hanukkah with a menorah:

IMG_1309

The neighborhood shelter was decorated for the season:

IMG_1318

It had a new book – Puppies Are Like That:

IMG_1314

And I noticed that my neighbors with the lovely seafoam shutters have placed a beautiful wreath on a bench that is not generally used in the winter time:

IMG_1320A walk of a few short blocks on the shortest day of the year. Happy Solstice!

Leave a Reply

