Gallery

Camera

I have not visited this blog in months. Things got busy this summer. And then, I lost my camera.

I thought I left it in Portland, then I thought I left it in Wisconsin. I asked friends if they had seen it, contacted airports’ lost and found offices, and searched in and under the couch, and everywhere else I could think of. That is one thing about newer point-and-shoot cameras: they are so tiny that they can easily be misplaced.

My feeling about objects that are misplaced is that they are not actually “lost”, a word that suggests they are gone forever so there is no point in looking for them. In fact, they still occupy space somewhere on the planet Earth. Most of the things I “lose” without doubt remain in North America, in Portland, Oregon, and in fact, are usually in my own house. That is a pretty small area to search when you think about it this way.  This perspective is necessary to keep the hope alive.

But this, my new, first, and only camera, was now lost. Perhaps it disintegrated in a vat of acid, or went up in flames. If it still existed in its camera-ness, I would have found it.

I thought.

Last week I was in Wisconsin when I received a text message from Garry: he found my camera in the Subaru, in the black hole that serves as a handy storage box between the front seats, underneath a stack of gas station receipts and gum wrappers. I have no explanation for how it got there, but am so glad to have it back. My pictures inspire me to write about my experiences. So, a bit chagrined, I will move forward, starting with my new cat, Howard.

We are kind of his indefinite foster parents. Howard enjoys life, and understands how to make full, happy use of an ottoman, especially when we place it near the wood stove for him.

*  *  *  *  *  *  *

The Burlingame Fred Meyers re-opened several weeks ago, and it is a completely new space. Early in the summer I had a lovely telephone chat with the daughter of the owner of D’Angelo’s, the salon whose name was revealed during the remodel. I hope to get back to my notes from our conversation and write about the history of this former neighborhood business. It sounds like it was a “beehive” of activity for many years in Southwest Portland. All for now.

Leave a Reply

