Gallery

First: Apologies to Readers. Second: Freddy’s!

After all this time, I have just now learned something important about uploading pictures into WordPress. So now, instead of blurry images (they looked so much better in iPhoto!) I will now post sparkling clear photos. My apologies to anyone who has been squinting, and hopefully you haven’t resorted to Botox on my account.

And now for something much more fun.

Fred Meyers on Barbur Boulevard is being gutted. This is how it used to look:

Two old signs have been revealed in the demolition process:

And this one:

I have not been able to learn anything about D’Angelo’s Hair Fashions from the internet. If you remember it, I’d enjoy hearing from you. My email: larossing@gmail.com.

6 responses to “First: Apologies to Readers. Second: Freddy’s!

  1. I am also interested in D’Angelo’s Hair Fashions! I think about it at least 4 times a day when I pass by Fred Meyer. 🙂

  2. hi mom! Great post. For what it’s worth, I haven’t noticed the blurry photos. One idea if you’re serious about tracking down the history of D’Angelo’s — try the local newspaper indices at the library. I’m not sure which databases would be most helpful, but the librarians would definitely know how to solve the mystery. Most of the local newspaper archives I’ve perused include advertisements in the keyword search, so if D’Angelos advertised, you’d have a good shot at tracking down when the business was active.

  3. Hi — regarding D’Angelo’s Hair Fashions, I noticed the sign the other day along with the “Burlingame” lettering, and have posted photos of both on my Walking Photos site. A bit of Googling revealed that Channel 8 ran a brief story on the Burlingame Freddy’s, and on the Facebook page for Ch. 8’s “Live at 7” show, a woman named Denise D’Angelo posted a note about the hair salon’s sign. Turns out her dad was the owner, and Denise herself is currently a faculty advisor at The School of Hair Design at Mt Hood Community College. If you use Facebook you could probably contact Denise to ask for more background info. These little remnants of history are definitely quite interesting.

    • Hello Patrick – Thank you for this information! I did try googling ‘D’Angelo’s’ several ways, but missed this. Nice job with the research. Yes, I will look up Denise on Facebook and see if she can share more information. It’s remarkable that these signs were preserved. A photo caption in the Oregonian fittingly compared the construction site to an archeological dig.

      I look forward to seeing your website at walkingphotos.tumblr.com. Thanks again. Lynn

Leave a Reply

